Newsletter November

Garry Owens receiving his Volunteer of the Year 2014 award from Commodore Tom Adams.

Laying Up Supper
So the boats are out of the water, sails stowed, wet-gear washed and the only thing left to do was to celebrate & re-live the 2014 season.
Over a 100 attended the annual Laying Up Supper. Guests came from our neighboring clubs of Malahide & Howth, unfortunately our good friends from Rush were unable to attend due to their celebrations the same night. We were also joined the Rugby Club and for the first time, representatives of the recently formed Rowing Club joined us as guests.
We all enjoyed the dinner catered by Conor Mc Gloughlin. The chat lasted late into the night as we ruminated on our sailing exploits & made plans for 2015.


Prize Giving

The 79th Laying Up supper provided the usual forum for an entertaining and enjoyable prize giving evening. Club member racing in the summer and autumn of 2014 generated some 81 separate sailing titles including cups, trophies and series titles which were recognised at this much loved annual event. A quick review of the results demonstrates the adage the more you race the more likely you will win and those who sail most frequently win the most prizes. 26 boats and helms won prizes. Of these 18 were presented on the night. In the cruiser class Paul Hick of Easy-Go and his team did best winning the Clifton, Kevin Duff, Mariners and Holmpatrick Cups along with 7 series titles. The Sapphire prizes were not presented and will be held over for the separate cruiser supper. In the dinghy classes regular sailors Sam Shiels, Niall McGrotty, Colman Grimes and Stan Shepherd were presented with 14 trophies between them along with 15 separate series title wins. Farther and son mermaid competitors Frank and Paul Browne won the J Boylan and Dardis trophies. Helm of the Year was won by Colman Grimes. Congratulations also to Ross Galbraith, Alan Early, Cathal Sheridan, Noel Clarke and Don Cromer who also picked up prizes. The female sailors were well represented by the all girl crew of Easy-Go who won the Commodore’s prize, Grainne McGrotty who won the Symco trophy, and Mary Whitty winning the mermaid crews prize. Last and perhaps most important recognition of the evening was the Punch Oak Trophy for the volunteer of the year. This was won by Garry Owens for his continued work in supporting club activities in providing his well maintained committee boat for major sailing events for a number of years now, organising club talks and captaining the cruiser fleet. Thanks Garry. Special recognition was also given to the Race officers. Thanks to all volunteers through the year who help make sailing work in our club week in/week out.


** Fun Music Night
In aid of
St. Francis Hospice, Raheny
Skerries Sailing Club

Saturday 22nd November at 8 pm

Auction &Monster Raffle – great prizes

A musical night for all to enjoy, from
traditional to Risky Business

All welcome – Come along and join in the craic.
No cover charge

For further information – please contact Anne Carroll 0868630554.